New life and drawing

Hello world!

When someone asked me if I could make some drawings for her violin website, and if I would want to add my website to my work, I realized I did not use my website at all. So I will start using it now – so I have a website to refer to, and to display some of the stuff I’m working on.

If you are here after seeing the calendar and my drawings: I have begun drawing digitally very recently. I would love to take up projects if you are looking for some drawings against a very small cost (if it’s a very small project and I have the time I might do it for free just to get the practice in)- I am hoping to improve my skills significantly. As such, I have added some of my work below as well. These are the very first things I have created with my Wacom digital drawing tablet, using the (limited) Corel Painter Essentials 5 software. I’m hoping that once I get better, I can invest some of funds into getting a more comprehensive software as well (like the Creative Cloud set).

As an introduction: my name is Yavanna, I graduated this month with an MSc in Communication Science and a specialization in Sustainable Seafood Production and Environmental Management. My main interests are nature, sports, fantasy/sci-fi/geek things, games, arts and crafts, food, animals, lifestyle, and politics. As can be read in my earlier posts, I’m very interested in veganism/freeganism, zero-waste lifestyle, minimalism, mindfulness, and breaking through the norms of mindless consumerism. Currently I have a temporary job at a local bakery/high tea place, and I am a volunteer at the animal shelter where I coordinate the team for children’s parties, as well as help with basic care of the shelter’s cats. My aim for a career is to do something that helps communicate marine science to youth or information on products to consumers, create transparency of supply chains, protect oceans, defend all fishers and their livelihoods, create communications on various governance levels of fisheries, or connect organisations aiming to protect the marine environment. You know, unless we, with the aid of the global overlord Trump, sour the ocean through climate change and pollution before I can get a job. Please, get me a job.

I will soon be posting some of my artwork, enjoy (or hate). If anyone is drawing and willing to share tips or have some fun drawing with me, let me know!

The drawing at the top of this page is Marko, from the Saga series by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples, which I would recommend a thousand times. These are beautiful, imaginative comics by brilliant people. I drew Marko as a learning experiment, but I was quite happy with the result. See the original (and buy the comic!) here: https://imagecomics.com/comics/series/saga

 

Leave a Reply

